Paradym Forums  

Go Back   Paradym Forums > Support FAQs > Error Messages

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:14 AM
rmoss rmoss is offline
VT Support and Training
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: VisualTour Corporate Office
Posts: 739
Default Error 5: Record Already Exists

Once in a rare while, when users try to add photos to the VisualTour software, an error message will be displayed indicating that the "record already exists."  The error message will sometimes reference "Error #5."  Naturally, the software does not really know what every photo looks like or if it already exists.  The VisualTour software keeps track of every photo by assigning it a number.  As each photo is added, a photo counter is incremented so no future photo will be assigned the same photo number.  If anything happens to the photo counter, it will assign the same photo number to two photos, and the error appears.

Why does the photo counter fail? Usually, it is because of a power outage or unexpected error that keeps the photo counter from incrementing properly, but the good news is that your photos are fine, and it is easy to get rid of the error. All you have to do is tell the software to start a new counter in a separate place, in this case, in a new folder.

Perhaps you are already using the folders feature to sort listings by size of the property, neighborhood, or perhaps by whether it is a rental or sale. If not, now is the time to learn about it.

To create a new folder, follow these steps.

  1. Open the VisualTour software. If necessary, cancel the tour guide.

  2. Click the FOLDERS button at the top of the screen.

  3. Click the NEW button.

  4. Type in a folder number (or a name like My Tours) up to 12 characters, and click OK. You will have the opportunity to type a longer name later.

  5. VisualTour will show you the location where it is placing the folder on your hard drive. Click OK.

  6. Choose to "Create Blank Folder," and click OK.

  7. Type in a name for the new folder, and click OK. This name can be up to 30 characters or you can use the shorter name you type in step 4.

  8. Click SELECT to exit the Folder Manager screen.

You now have a new folder with a new photo counter. Do not attempt to place any more listings/tours in the old folder. The listings that are there are perfectly safe, but the photo counter in that folder will not accept more photos. If you wish to add photos to listing/tour in that old folder, just copy the tour to the new folder first. In that way, the copy in the new folder has new photo numbers.

To copy a tour from one folder to another, follow these steps.


  1. From the Edit menu, choose COPY/MOVE.

  2. On the left side of the screen, choose the old folder from the drop down list at the top of the copy/move screen.

  3. On the right side of the screen, choose the other folder.

  4. On the left side, single click on the tour you want to copy, then click the blue arrow that points to the right.

  5. Choose to include All Images, then click OK. The tour is copied.

  6. Click DONE to exit the Copy/Move screen. You can now add more photos to that existing tour. You might find it useful to rename or delete the old copy so you do not confuse the two tours.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2002, 11:22 AM
rmoss rmoss is offline
VT Support and Training
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: VisualTour Corporate Office
Posts: 739
Default New Information Regarding This Error

There is now an update available for all users of VisualTour version 4.0.0 or higher to fix error 5's. The new update has a built in routine that will fix most error 5's when they occur.

1) Close the VisualTour software.

2) Download the 4.0.3 (or any higher numbered) update from our File Downloads page. Choose to run it from its existing location (or if you prefer, you can save it somewhere then run it).

3) Start the VisualTour software, and repeat the process that caused yor error 5. You WILL get one more error 5. Once you do , the error 5 routine kicks in to fix the software.

4) From that point forward, any time you get an error 5, the same routine will kick in and attempt a repair. If the routine cannot fix the error, then you can still use the original solution above to create a new folder.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.